Research Labs

Here is a list of our research faculty and staff across all locations. Click on their profile image to learn more about them and their published work.



Advanced Research Computing Center (ARCC)


Glenn Martin
Director, ARCC
martin@ist.ucf.edu

Derrick Greenspan
Graduate Research Assistant
derrick.greenspan@knights.ucf.edu

Jamie Schnaitter
Research Assistant
mschnaitter@ist.ucf.edu

Suneet Tipirneni
Student Assistant
stipirne@ist.ucf.edu



Center for Research Admin. Tech. & Applications (CRATA)


Tammie McClellan
Director, Dept. of Information Systems Technology
tmcclell@ist.ucf.edu





ChronoPoints Lab


Lori C. Walters, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
ChronoPoints Director

lcwalter@ist.ucf.edu

Robert A. Michlowitz, Ph.D
Postdoctoral Scholar
rmichlow@ist.ucf.edu





Cognitive Sciences Lab


Stephen M. Fiore, Ph.D.
Director, Cognitive Sciences Lab
sfiore@ist.ucf.edu

Gregory McGowin
Graduate Research Assistant
gmcgowin@ist.ucf.edu

Toktam Amanzadeh Oghaz
Graduate Research Assistant
tamanzad@ist.ucf.edu

Samaneh Saadat
Graduate Research Assistant
ssaadat@ist.ucf.edu

Zerong Xi
Graduate Research Assistant
zxi@ist.ucf.edu





Complexity Lab


Mary Amon
Faculty Administrator
mamon@ist.ucf.edu

Nika Kartvelishvili
Graduate Research Technician
nkartvel@ist.ucf.edu





Cybersecurity Cluster


Yao Li
Assistant Professor
yli@ist.ucf.edu





Cybersecurity Simulation Lab


Bruce Caulkins
Director, Cybersecurity Simulation Lab
bcaulkin@ist.ucf.edu

Matthew Canham
Research Assistant Professor
mcanham@ist.ucf.edu

Tiffani Marlowe
Graduate Student Assistant
tmarlowe@ist.ucf.edu

Alan Paris
Post Doctoral Scholar
Alan.Paris@ucf.edu

Michael Schwartz
Graduate Research Assistant
mschwart@ist.ucf.edu

Andrew Smith
Graduate Research Assistant
asmith@ist.ucf.edu





E2i Creative Studio


Eileen Smith
Director, E2i Creative Studio
esmith@ist.ucf.edu

Carole McDaniel
Assistant Director, E2i Creative Studio
cmcdaniel@ist.ucf.edu

Amanda Allen
Assistant in Instructional Design Simulation
aallen@ist.ucf.edu

Tom Bennett
3D Artist/Animator
tbennett@ist.ucf.edu

Michael Carney
Senior Experience Designer
mcarney@ist.ucf.edu

Rae Hanson
Research Associate
rhanson@ist.ucf.edu

Adam Lawton
Research Assistant
alawton@ist.ucf.edu

Scott Malo
Research Support
smalo@ist.ucf.edu

Anthony Mineo
Research Support
amineo@ist.ucf.edu

Jonathan Valderrama
Research Support
jvalderr@ist.ucf.edu





Human Performance Measurement at the MIT2 Lab


Peter Hancock, Ph.D.
Research Professor
Peter.Hancock@ucf.edu

Keith MacArthur
Graduate Research Assistant
Laboratory Manager

Keith.macarthur@knights.ucf.edu





Interactive Realities Lab (IRL)


Glenn Martin
Director, IRL
martin@ist.ucf.edu

Gregory Marcus
Research Technology
gmarcus@ist.ucf.edu

Davidson Mauricette, Jr
Research Support
dmaurice@ist.ucf.edu

Shahan Sirigampola
Assistant in Simulation
ssirigam@ist.ucf.edu

Steven Zielinski
Assistant in Simulation
szielins@ist.ucf.edu





Mixed Emerging Technology Integration Lab (METIL)


David Metcalf
Director, METIL
dmetcalf@ist.ucf.edu

Jennie Ablanedo
Assistant in Simulation
jablaned@ist.ucf.edu

Wilson Ariza
Research Assistant
wariza@ist.ucf.edu

Christian Birkett
Research Support
cbirkett@ist.ucf.edu

Michael Eakins
Creative Lead, METIL
meakins@ist.ucf.edu

Colin Forward
Research Technician
colinforward@knights.ucf.edu

Hal Halvorson
Programmer
hhalvors@ist.ucf.edu

Angela Hamilton
Program Lead, METIL
ahamilton@ist.ucf.edu

Max Hooper
Research Technician
mhooper@ist.ucf.edu

Wade Merritt
Research Support
Media Developer

wmerritt@ist.ucf.edu

Katheline Ocasio
Research Support
kocasio@ist.ucf.edu

Patty Sellers
Adjunct Research Associate
psellers@ist.ucf.edu

Barbara Truman
Research Support
btruman@ist.ucf.edu

Devon Veller
Research Technician
dveller@ist.ucf.edu

Ellen Wagner
Research Support
ewagner@ist.ucf.edu

Valarie Yerdon
Graduate Assistant
vyerdon@ist.ucf.edu



Prototype Development and 3D (PD3D) Print Lab


Jack Stubbs
Director, PD3D
jstubbs@ist.ucf.edu

Fluvio Lobo Fenoglietto
Assistant in Biomedical Research
flobo@ist.ucf.edu

James Inziello
Simulation Technician
jinziell@ist.ucf.edu

Robert Sims III
Research Support
rsims@ist.ucf.edu



Realistic Assessment of Performance in Devices (RAPID) Lab


Crystal Maraj
Director, RAPID
cmaraj@ist.ucf.edu

Jonathan Hurter
Research Assistant and Technical Writer
jhurter@ist.ucf.edu

Sean Murphy
Assistant in Research
Software Development

smurphy@ist.uf.edu





SAILOR 2025


Christine Allen
Research Associate
callen@ist.ucf.edu

John Allen
Research Associate
jallen@ist.ucf.edu

Jessica Cruit
Research Support
jcruit@ist.ucf.edu

Troy Glassman
Research Support
tglassman@ist.ucf.edu

Melinda Gomez
Research Associate
mgomez@ist.ucf.edu

Destiny Hopkins
Research Associate
dhopkins@ist.ucf.edu

Ryan Howell
Research Associate
rhowell@ist.ucf.edu

Arthur Theodore
Research Associate
atheodor@ist.ucf.edu

Jack Whiteman
Research Associate
jwhiteman@ist.ucf.edu

Michael Xynidis
Research Support
mxynidis@ist.ucf.edu





SENSEable Design Lab


Joseph Kider Jr.
Director, SENSEable Design Lab
jkider@ist.ucf.edu





SIMITAR


Gerald Matthews
Co-Director, SIMITAR
gmatthew@ist.ucf.edu

Scott Harris
Co-Director, SIMITAR
sharris@ist.ucf.edu

Wiley Boland
Research Associate
wboland@ist.ucf.edu

Jonathan Coole
Assistant in Software Engineering
jcoole@ist.ucf.edu

Maartje Hidalgo
Research Associate
mhidalgo@ist.ucf.edu

Justin Lee
Graduate Research Assistant
jlee@ist.ucf.edu

Jinchao Lin
Research Associate
jlin@ist.ucf.edu

Kelsey McCracken
Research Support
kmccrack@ist.ucf.edu

Jacquelyn Schreck
Graduate Research Assistant
jschreck@ist.ucf.edu





SREAL (Synthetic Reality Lab)


Charles E. Hughes, Ph.D.
Co-Director, SREAL
ceh@cs.ucf.edu

Gregory F. Welch, Ph.D.
Co-Director, SREAL
welch@ucf.edu

Gerd Bruder, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
bruder@ucf.edu

Eric Imperiale
Research Technician
eimperia@ist.ucf.edu

Barbara Lee
Office Assistant
blee@ist.ucf.edu

Ryan Schubert
Research Technician
rschuber@ist.ucf.edu

Lori C. Walters, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
lcwalter@ist.ucf.edu





Team Performance Laboratory (TPL)


Florian Jentsch
Director, TPL
Florian.Jentsch@ucf.edu

Blake Nguyen
Research Associate
Lab Manager, TPL

bnguyen@ist.ucf.edu

Rhyse Bendell
Graduate Research Assistant
rbendell@ist.ucf.edu

Claas Boesser
Graduate Assistant
cboesser@ist.ucf.edu

Nathan Sonnenfeld
Graduate Research Assistant
nsonnenf@ist.ucf.edu

Jessica Williams
Graduate Research Assistant
jwilliam@ist.ucf.edu





Team Research and Adaptability in Complex Environments (TRACE)


C. Shawn Burke, Ph.D.
Director, TRACE Lab
sburke@ist.ucf.edu

Angela DeKruif
Graduate Research Assistant
adekruif@ist.ucf.edu

Destiny Hopkins
Research Associate
dhopkins@ist.ucf.edu

Ryan Howell
Research Associate
rhowell@ist.ucf.edu

Alex Lewis
Graduate Research Assistant
alewis@ist.ucf.edu

Krisztina Szabo
Graduate Research Assistant
kszabo@ist.ucf.edu

Arthur Theodore
Research Associate
atheodor@ist.ucf.edu





Simulation & Training Technology Center (STTC)


Shelley Brown
Research Associate
sbrown@ist.ucf.edu

John Capozza
Associate in Simulation
jcapozza@ist.ucf.edu

Armando Fandango
Graduate Assistant
afandang@ist.ucf.edu

Jeremy Flynn
Research Associate
jflynn@ist.ucf.edu

Alexander Gutierrez
Research Support
agutierr@ist.ucf.edu

Clive Hoayun
Assistant in Research Software Development
choayun@ist.ucf.edu

Robert Horn
Associate in Simulation
shorn@ist.ucf.edu

Nathan Hubbard
Associate in Simulation
nhubbard@ist.ucf.edu

Jimmy Lam
Research Technician
jlam@ist.ucf.edu

Andrew Meinke
Research Support
ameinke@ist.ucf.edu

Brian Plamondon
Program Director
bplamond@ist.ucf.edu

Dean Reed
Research Associate
dreed@ist.ucf.edu

Shane Reynolds
Associate in Simulation and Training Research
sreynold@ist.ucf.edu

Cortnee Stainrod
Graduate Research Assistant
cstainro@ist.ucf.edu

Troyle Thomas
Assistant in Simulation
tthomas@ist.ucf.edu

Timothy Wansbury
Research Associate
twansbur@ist.ucf.edu

Larry Ziock
Research Associate
lawrence.e.ziock.ctr@mail.mil